Change of Address

Hello fans and followers (pahahaa all 5 of you)

So I have moved from Blogspot to WordPress, as it is more accessible from my BlackBerry.

I have been reading lots and lots, and last night I finished The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides. Let me tell you, this was not an easy book to read, yet I was hooked from the first page.

I am a shallow reader. Lovely, curly, girly writing and popular crime fiction are my favourites, and I thought that this would be something like that, not having read anything by Jeffrey Eugenides before. Little beknown to me this man is a friggin’ Pulitzer Prize winner *hangs head in bookseller shame*.

I thought I might as well finish this while I’m awake, because taking a five hour nap in the afternoon seemed like a really good idea at the time….

So back to The Marriage Plot. I read the proof for this book because the powers that be needed someone to give it a yay or nay. I give it a big YAY! Like I said, I am a shallow reader but this book was just SO beautiful. This is a man who knows how to use his words. The descriptions used in the book are so charming and vivid that while I was reading I made a little movie in my head (if a film was ever made based on this book and they got it wrong I would be sorely disappointed).

Perhaps I should give a bit of a background on the book: Madeleine is the central character in this story, and there are two men who love her: Mitchell and Leonard; one is an enigmatic manic-depressive and the other a pessimistic aspiring theologian. The story revolves around the intertwining lives of these three characters and the choices Madeleine makes in order to quench her perpetual thirst for finding her true love. Madeleine is obsessed with love and books. And books about love. Eugenides describes her bookshelves with such clarity that it is very difficult not to like her (yes, I am basing my love for this character purely on the book choices she makes).

I must say that I underestimated this book greatly. Men, when they attempt to write love stories with women as the protagonist, often get it just a little bit-or a lot-wrong. In this story, Jeffrey Eugenides gets it so right; all the angst, turmoil, indecisiveness and emotional tragedy that people go through in those years in between obtaining a degree and settling down is painted so eloquently and powerfully that I had to finish the book, even though it took me about 3 weeks to do so.

I must say that this book was not an easy read for me, I often felt like the author was speaking directly to me. I suppose it’s always the best ones that speak to your soul, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

