The way things are

I have a month and a few days before I start working full-time as a bookseller and become a truly part-time scientist. Somewhere along the line my disdain for my degree has subsided somewhat, in direct proportion to an increase in disdain for public transport.

I watched in amazement today as a group of scientists opened boxes of new lab equipment and I was both astounded and amused by their behaviour. It was like Christmas in September up in that lab paha. As one of them put it: “This really is like Christmas, a sad, nerdy Christmas”.

I’m actually quite excited to finish this degree despite constant talk of upgrading to a PhD by my supervisor. No thanks.

Leave a Reply

