Psychological Warfare

This is an open letter to my family. The ones who should see this probably won’t.

 

Dear Extended Family Members,

I love weddings. I love what they stand for, I love what they mean. I hate turquoise bridal satin but if that is the brides’ choice for her bridesmaids, then that is ok too. But when you, yes you people, who are my mother’s cousins or my father’s 2nd cousins child; people who see me MAYBE twice a year,  keep asking me when it will be my turn, this is my reaction:

 

 

I really enjoy going to weddings. I love LOVE. I am a romantic. But you, family, YOU kill my spirit with your incessant questioning of my alternative lifestyle. Several people even said: I know you have a boyfriend, you’re just not telling us.

BELIEVE ME WHEN I SAY THAT IF I HAD A BOYFRIEND , EVERYONE WOULD KNOW. 

Please stop psychologically abusing me, I don’t like leaving a wedding – which is supposed to be a happy time – feeling distressed and depressed.  I would like to leave there feeling happy for the couple and honored that I was invited to share their special day with them.

Yours truly,

The Reluctant Spinster

 

 

2 thoughts on “Psychological Warfare

Leave a Reply

