Mediterranean Fowl Play

I have entered an exciting competition, which I am hoping everyone will vote for!

Pick ‘n Pay and various sponsors have launched a food photography and blogging competition, which requires participants to make a meal either from the Fresh Living magazine or the Pick ‘n Pay website.

I have chosen the “Between the Slices” category, as my passion is in making delicious sandwiches and I thought this would be a great platform to showcase a little bit of that.

The grand prize is a spectacular kitchen makeover from Bamboo Warehouse and DNG interiors, as well as a chance for my recipe and photograph to be featured in Fresh Living and Kook en Kuier magazines.

One of the rules of the competition is that you HAVE to use the main ingredient from each category, and for my choice it was I&J Crumbed Chicken Fillets.

 

DSC_0007

I used the Ultimate Chicken Burger recipe from the Pick ‘n Pay website as a basis for my burger, but I only used it as a guideline. My recipe is as follows:

 

Ingredients

2x I&J frozen crumbed chicken burgers

1x large brown braai mushroom

2x Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1x seeded bun

1x Tbsp garlic mayonnaise

3 cocktail tomatoes, sliced

3 cucumber ribbons

pickled red onion (mine was homemade)

a handful of fresh rocket

salt and pepper

Ina Paarman’s Garlic and Herbs

a quarter round of feta cheese

 

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius and prepare a baking sheet with Spray and Cook. Place the frozen chicken fillets and mushroom on the baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, and season with herbs and salt and pepper.

When the oven is ready, place the baking sheet in the middle shelf and bake according to time on the I&J packaging. While the fillets are baking, split the bun and toast each side lightly. Generously salt the tomato slices and allow to rest.

DSC_0008

Spread the garlic mayo on the bottom half of the bun and layer the rocket, cucumber and pickled red onion. Place the mushroom on top, and half the fillets and layer it on top of the mushrooms. Drain the liquid from the tomatoes and arrange on top of the fillets, with the crumbled feta cheese to finish.

Serve with hot potato chips, condiments and a cold beverage.

PicsArt_1422144217287

Please vote for my picture at http://www.instacook.co.za/?contestants=mediterranean-fowl-play, and please share on all social networks. Voting closes 28 February 2015.

You can also find me on twitter and Instagram @booksbakesbio. Please follow and share.

 

Thank you ❤

Leave a Reply

